Five First Saturdays

This devotion was first revealed to the children during the visions at Fatima, when Our Lady asked that the First Saturday of every month become a day of prayers for the reparation of sin. In another vision to Lucia Santos in 1925, she specified her wishes for the exact nature of the devotion.

"Have pity on the Heart of your Most Holy Mother," she told Lucia. "It is covered with the thorns with which ungrateful men pierce it at every moment, and there is no one to remove them with an act of reparation."

The devotion can be practiced by doing the following on the First Saturday of each month for five consecutive months, offering all for the conversion of sinners and the reparation of offenses to the Immaculate Heart of Mary:

  • Receive the Sacrament of Penance
  • Receive Holy Communion
  • Pray a full Rosary
  • Spend 16 minutes keeping Mary company while meditating on the Mysteries of the Rosary.

In 1930, the Lord revealed revealed to Sister Lucia the reason why there are Five First Saturdays.  There are five principle offenses against the Immaculate Heart of Mary for which reparation must be made:

1) Denial of the Immaculate  Conception of Mary

2) Denial of the perpetual virginity of Mary

3) Denial that Mary is the spiritual Mother of all people in addition to being the Mother of Jesus

4) Sowing in the minds of children a disrespect or hatred for Mary and her Immaculate Heart

5) Disrespect for, or defacement of, holy images of the Blessed Virgin

Online Giving Reflections from Online Giving Catholics Come Home Catholic TV